Enter: Real Life- Finale (?)

I quit my job.

Packed my bags.

Flew to London.

It was sudden.

One weekend, I didn’t know what to do to manage time properly and get everything done.

The next weekend, I was sitting halfway around the world in a new home- my home- that had two cups, two plates, one fork and three spoons. No, wait…. that’s a spoon-type-thing. I’m not sure what it is. Its too disfigured to see what it was originally. Specially after it was left in the microwave in one of those two plates. We’re grateful the plate survived.

Welcome to home.

Welcome to real life.

Welcome (back) to have-nothing-to-do-and-am-depressed crying sessions… and then seeing the bright side of things and going on marathon cooking sessions….revelling in the freedom of having no constraints on my time.

Welcome to the freedom of staying out as late as you please.

Of doing insane things like going to the 24-hour ASDA to get tea bags at one at night because there were none in the house.

Welcome to London. Welcome to home. Welcome to real life.

I’m lovin’ it. :-)

This entry was posted in Dear Diary, marriage. Bookmark the permalink.

42 Responses to Enter: Real Life- Finale (?)

  1. Minerva says:

    Hahahahahaha! Welcome to the not-so-Dark-Side.

    *hugs*

  2. Sobia says:

    Despite the texts and calls I feel so much better knowing you’ve updated your blog!! :) (Why is this?) Tell me when you get bored of real life so I can drag your butt up here :)

  3. Sonia says:

    Aw! Hope you like it there. Have been reading you for a while. Just wanted to wish you all the best :) Glad you’re lovin’ it. :)

  4. nadia says:

    MashaAllah! :)

  5. Anas Imtiaz says:

    LOL at two cups .. two plates .. etc. Even I have more than that :D but that’s because my parents came and I had to prep for them warna aisa hi kuch haal tha

    And so yeah, welcome to London (eekhh!)

  6. Pingback: Enter: Real Life- Finale (?) | Tea Break

  7. Achelois says:

    Alhamdulliah! Good then.

    I’ll be in London soon iA ;)

  8. Mezba says:

    Congratulations mA. I still don’t know why they have two taps in London for hot and cold, but it’s a wonderful city.

    • Achelois says:

      Haha! That’s cute Mezba.

      The two separate taps are because Londoners fill the sinks to use as washbasins or take baths rather than showers. It is a strange way of conserving water and the environment. Our mayor also advises us to flush our toilet only when there is the “big mess” so if you are constipated for a week you don’t flush for a week :D No need to water down *the water*!

      • д§mд says:

        LOLz … thanks god there are mixers now but really Ive seen so many home renovvtion programs where they de-installed mixers to the two-tap nonsense … sucks in winters!

    • Tasmiya says:

      HA! This is funny. My sister moved to the UK and still cannot understand that people actually prefer the separate taps. I don’t know how anyone performs wudhu in the dead of winter.

  9. д§mд says:

    LOLzz welcome to my city ;-) I visited Asda too the night I came in to buy some basics .. hehe

    But you have come in best season … the days are long weather is good; I pity those who come in winters :)

    So hows cooking sessions and all the stuff going? life in here is not much different if you were in Isloo and was working :) All the best! You’ve got my email … if I could be of any help send me a message :)

  10. Mari says:

    Awesome! I’m glad you’re settling… Your post reminded me of when I first moved to America. How naive i was, how new and incredible eveything seemed.. Welcome to the foreign experience! And plzzzz email me your number so I can call you. Hope all’s well…love ya!

  11. 'liya says:

    Awww, so happy for you!

    Enjoy being newly wed in a new city :D

  12. GeekiSiddiqui says:

    Woohoo! Sounds like fun, silly, exciting times! :)

  13. Wow, that’s so exciting! I’ll be there in a few months Insha Allah, can’t wait! :)

  14. Gift says:

    Have been a silent reader for a year or so…welcome to my home town :)… if you have any questions just ask. And 24 hour Asda is a life-saver!!

  15. beyond says:

    hey great that you arrived safely.and lol at the two plates thing.i remember when i arrived in germany,my husband got a two room apartment which is considered okay for 2 persons but coming from a HUGE place in pakistan,it was a SHOCK.and i also had 2 cups and few plates(and no table)but you know with time,we moved to a bigger place,had kids and now have so much stuff that there isnt space to put things;)

  16. Tasmiya says:

    Enjoy! Brave woman :)

  17. Fa says:

    Wow, for some reason, I feel sooo sad that you have left your hometown! Gosh!!!
    How’s it there at London? I hope all is going well with you. I’m sorry but I can’t get over the fact that you’re no more in Pak. It must’ve been so difficult for you to leave your family. But I’m sure you’ll get used to the new environment Insha Allah.

    And what’s that ‘finale’ all about? Pls don’t tell me what I don’t wanna hear..pls..

  18. Leena S. says:

    wow, Masha Allah, congratulations :) finally i know someone whose husband has pretty much the same amount of stuff as my husband had wen i reached singapore!

  19. Haris Gulzar says:

    Salam. I have been away for long now. Congratulations on getting married :-). Hope you have a great life ahead Insha-Allah, and hope you continue to enjoy the REAL LIFE Insha-Allah :-). Take care…

  20. PD says:

    Gosh, I havent been here in ages, apologies. After changing blog a 100 times i’m hoping I finally stick to this. Last time I checked your blog you’d posted you were engaged and here you are mashaAllah, married. Mabroook. And enjoy london. :P

  21. Organica says:

    DUDE

    I AM HERE!

    I won’t ask to meet up because I know you are busy but STILL. Pretty please?

  22. Salman Latif says:

    Great. Blessed be thy new life!! Enjoy London ;)

  23. Alisha says:

    Great! I want to hear more about your ‘glamorous’ new life in London. :-D

  24. Sumera says:

    Congrats and welcome to Londinium!

    If you ever feel so bored you dont know what to do, give me a shout- we can go for ice cream ;)

  25. smacula says:

    yaay … you are in my land now :D woo !!!

    oh by the way… there is an ikea near wembley stadium…

    and ikea do a ‘starter pack’ with crockery in it… costs about a hundred me thinks.. n u get 6 big plates 6 cups 6 small plates 6 of everything really ! I did that when I moved out so you might wanna grab that !

    among other things!

    best of luck with life and you know you have somebody you can bug if you wanna near by you ! xxx

  26. ash says:

    wow, that must be the hardest thing to do!!!
    Hope the weather is at least cheering you up, cos trust me – it isnt like this very much.
    LOL@ 2 cups and 2 plates, dont worry you will get there.
    i dont have time to visit your blog often but dying to know how you are getting on :)
    xx

  27. mubi says:

    ahahaha new side to our blogger :/ okkkk after reading almost all the comments…most coming from the Uk based ppl :/ all i can say is our stationery sniffing/shopping plan is on :D :p

  28. Lat says:

    Hope you settle down safe and have happy beginnings!

  29. abupokemon says:

    Best of luck on your new endevors.

  30. Gaia says:

    CONGRATULATIONS! Really happy for you :)

  31. ahan..sounds like fun eh

  32. U just fell off the blogosphere? We need updates man! I’m moving in Jan – your insight into the place would be very helpful. What part of London do u stay in?

  33. bongi says:

    where are the updates???

  34. Aww sweetie! Congrats! So you’ve successfully passed the transition then, eh? MashaAllah and alhamdulilah. There are six weeks left to go from me and I’m caught between ecstasy and terror. And I’m not even moving half way across the world! How’s London? How’s life? May Allah grant you too all the best <3

Leave a Reply

