The SET and how I’m always wrong

Mum: His mum wants you to have her wedding jewellery as a gift for your wedding. *sniff*

Specs: That is so creepy.

Mum: Its not creepy. What’s creepy about it? The ungrateful children these days! Its not only of great value, its something that’s precious because of the sentiments attached to it.

Me: Its still creepy.

Mum: You’re going to wear it on your wedding. That’s final. (are we discussing my wedding or my 5th birthday ensemble?!)

Me: Sure, I’ll wear it. But then he should wear my Dad’s wedding suit.

Dad: Let me see if I can find it.

Me: *punches air* Yeah! Its only fair!

Mum holding head in her hands: O Lord Grant this girl an ounce of common sense.

Me: O Lord, Grant this mother an ounce of humor.

Mum: getting more and more horrified Anj susral vich galan karay gi?!?! (Is this how you will talk when at your In-Laws?!) You’re going to get me insulted for raising such a daughter. I’m not talking to you. *mouth in a thin line*

What did I do now?!? 😦

This entry was posted in Dear Diary, desi, Family, Humor, rishta and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

33 Responses to The SET and how I’m always wrong

  1. Sumera says:

    Its normal for Mum’s to get horrified at stuff like this lol

  2. Minerva says:

    HAHAHAHAH @ ‘it’s creepy’ … it is in fact totally normal.

    lol.

  3. nadia says:

    LooooooL … your MIL is so sweet 🙂

    PS: Now go find your dad’s wedding suit.

  4. farooqk says:

    lmao @dad’s suit

    oh, and youre a paindoo! 😛

  5. Elena says:

    lolol, that’s too funny…but i think is sweet from your mil…

  6. Humaira says:

    HAHAHA! I Love that about your dad’s wedding suit! Only fair!

  7. Sadia says:

    “Anj susral vich galan karay gi?!?!” <— This cracked me up! I'm still laughing! Hahaha!!! Ur mum rocks her punjabi and dantna in punjabi:P loolz

  8. mubi says:

    ooo a heirloom only for the daughter in law :p hehe dont ‘humour’ with ur mum, she has a lot of other things to panic about

  9. Pingback: The SET and how I’m always wrong | Tea Break

  10. mcpagal says:

    LOL! I think he should totally wear your dad’s suit (or at least his hat!) – it’s only fair! Hmm, I wonder if this is how all wedding traditions came about…?

  11. LOL! 😀 Go for the emo look. The jewellery’ll stand out. D:< Mwahahahahaha!

  12. Absar says:

    LOL! 😛
    Now all you need is a something blue and a something new, and you’re ready for your Jewish wedding! 😛

    • Specs says:

      Ai hai, that isn’t borrowed. Its a present so its MINE! 😛

      Now I need something blue. For that, I’ll use his expression which is always a bit blue.
      He can be the something old, *I* can be the something new. Something borrowed…. hmmm, I’m thinking of getting my mum’s diamonds.

      Now there’s a plan!

  13. Salman Latif says:

    Lolz!
    I never understand the notion of having loads of gold jewelery on weddings and then packing it up in drawers afterward for very rare uses.
    I mean…that’s like wasting the country’s resources 😀
    And btw you know Punjabi? 😛

    • Specs says:

      Well, point is, you have to wear something fancy on your wedding but where do you wear something like that afterwards?

      It IS taking money out of circulation, that’s true. It think people should make smaller-wearable sets.

      And my mum’s Punjabi so I can understand a scolding, yes. But I can’t get myself across in it without making people cry.

  14. shiny says:

    this is sooooooooooooooo funny.

  15. Salman Latif says:

    @specs
    The irnoy! 😀

  16. To be fair, he shouldn’t have to wear the entire suit, cause that would be the equivalent of you wearing his mum’s dress. So therefore jewelry would have to be paired with the cuff links and tie I’d say. And perhaps a hat….

    But good on you for exacting your revenge so quickly 😉

  17. Haleem says:

    Gold is good! It’s diamonds that are the enemy.

    Repeat… gold = good.

  18. Firstly, I didnt know you were getting married – so huge congrats! 😀

    Secondly, my fiance has been humoring her mom with the same lines, and it’s the same responses xD

    It’s like a universal marriage thing 😛

  19. wayfarer says:

    you’re too funny 🙂

Leave a Reply

