Enter: Real Life- A day in my life

Wow @ the questions on the previous post– talk about variety! Well, here we go then.

Shawna asked me to describe a day in my new life.

I just have a word of caution- don’t judge me. I promise I’ll live a healthier life. Someday.

3:00 am Mr Specs calls- this usually lasts till 4:00 am or so. He’s in London and we have a 4 hour time difference so, I decided this time was better than starting to talk at midnight and continuing till the morning. That’s … unhealthier.

4:00 Fajr prayers

4:30-6:30 Study for CFA exam (its half a month away)

6:30-7:00 Get ready for office…  putting on eyeliner perfectly takes time, dammit.

7:30 At office. Matt needs to be dropped off to school by 7:45 and my office is the first thing in line, so when my Mum does the pick/drop, I have to get to office by 7:30 so he can make it in time. Insane.

Rest of the morning: Spend reading legalese and fighting with in-house lawyers over interpretation of terms. Spend 2 hours explaining to a genius why he can’t put a certain clause in his document just because everyone else did it- their investments were different, genius. Have a tiff over his portfolio composition. He sends me off on a tangent about unrealized gains in Income Funds and Balance Sheets being different and blah blah blah… stop him right there. Schedule appointment with our Chartered Accountant so he can put it into simple terms for me.

1:00 pm Break time… these days I’m usually working through it. And no, I don’t eat.

2:00 pm Attend meeting and listen to boss shout at me about not wrapping a case up.

Boss, he wants that clause in there.

Specs, tell him if he wants a proper document, that clause will NOT be there.

Er, what did I spend all my morning doing, boss?! He won’t listen!!!

*boss calls up genius*

Genius says ‘Okay’ right off the bat. Boss shoots me a ‘look’. I curse genius- he’s just biased and doesn’t like my voice.

Go meet Chartered Accountant. He’s more confused than me. Hurray.

Attend meeting about a fraud case that I wasn’t involved in… by involved, I mean…I wasn’t the investigator or the one of the affected, so why do I have to sit through this?! Its horribly complicated but I learn new ways of financial fraud. Boss tells me this is a once-a-life-time case. If its that, why’d you make me sit through it- it wasn’t likely to come up again in my life. Wasted time. Urgh.

6:30 pm Start packing up. Commute home.

7:30 pm Get home. Have tea (no sugar) and collapse onto bed. Plud in iPod and read up on CFA Exam Material. I leave the mathematics for the morning and the theory for right now.

9:00 pm Everyone gathers in my room for a sibling chit-chat session.

10:00 pm Hit the sack

2:55 am *Alarm*

3:00 am Oh wait, here’s Mr Specs calling. He actually puts the phone down if I don’t pick it up by the second ring. Too much consideration- erm, not good. The story I’ve told him is that I go to sleep at 7:00 and wake up at this time to study. Otherwise, he just doesn’t call at ALL so as not to ‘disturb me’… like, REALLY.

Mr. Specs and I spend time discussing my latest research project and he comes up with good ideas. We discuss some possible investments. Exchange the day’s details. He asks me if I’ve quit the gym for good… am I getting lazy, hehe. Er, not funny… Oh.

There you go. A day in my life.

Did I mention the in-laws live 300 kms away and I go there on Saturdays and come back on Sundays? No? Oh well, now you know.

I have an interesting life. I haven’t watched The Big Bang Theory in ages and I don’t remember what my family looks like… and I’m not sure what is worse.

I HAVE, however, lost 12 pounds in the last month. Yay.

And don’t you dare call me boring.

This entry was posted in marriage, personal, Q & A Specs, rishta, Specy, The Wedding. Bookmark the permalink.

34 Responses to Enter: Real Life- A day in my life

  1. Pingback: Tweets that mention Enter: Real Life- A day in my life | The view from behind my specs… -- Topsy.com

  2. lovetodaydream says:

    omg…You know, you are not boring at all. But I know from experience your body is not going to take that rhytm of living for long. Trust me, sooner or later, it will just break down and usually it is when you need it to work 100%, so be careful please!You have to figure out a way to try to change your schedule a bit, even if you hav to sacrifice talking with Mr Specs everyday, but your sleep time should be enough fr your body’s battery to recharge!. And here is an insomniac speaking so I know lol.

    Anyway, good luck with the exam!!!!

    • Specs says:

      Thanks for the good wishes, Elena.

      And nooo, I don’t want to give up Mr. Specs- I’m starting to like him a bit. HA HA. Actually, because of the time difference there is no other way I can figure out that we can still keep in touch with my routine being what it is. And losing what little contact we have, that too with a new relationship- naah, its too difficult!

  3. YOU’RE AN ANOREXIC NERD EMO(eyeliner na)!!

    O:

  4. Pingback: Enter: Real Life- A day in my life | Tea Break

  5. smacula says:

    mr specs.. mr specs… does whatever a mr specs does… (spider pig tune)

    I donno why i am gettin sinister thoughts… i’ll let you be though… 😛 haha

    it’ll pass 🙂 you’ll be in london soon … and you;ll have all the time in the world to spend… at the gym! xxx

  6. Hang on… u guys are married and still live in different countries??? Um, the only reason I’m willing to put up with all that crazy drama that goes into a wedding is so that I don’t have to live on a different continent from my fiance! Also, he’s kind of awesome so that helps 🙂 When are u moving to the UK? I was counting on some of your posts to make me feel like I’ve already been there and be less terrifies about moving to a completely new place where I really only know a handful of people! At least you’re back in the studying game. 19 days, it’s panic time!

    • Specs says:

      I’m moving… when I get a Visa. Plus a few for my notice period at the current workplace. Uffff…. living away SUCKS. Don’t ever do it.

      Why did you have to remind me how many DAYS it was?! Don’t do that EVER again! I like to pretend its a month so don’t make me face life! *cries*

  7. Shawna Ayoub says:

    YAY! Thanks for the day. I wish I could be there and we could have tea together. And I could feed you. Seriously? You should eat!!! Don’t make me get all maternal on you! 😛

    • Specs says:

      Hey heeey… I’m just not eating these days, its not an all-the-time- thing. 🙂

      Awww @ you getting maternal (hugs) I wish we COULD have tea together and I’d make you something yummylicious and then we’d indulge.

      Okay, is it obvious I’m getting too involved with the day-dreaming? 😀

  8. Salman says:

    OH well specs i am a new reader of you so may be i want to know about you hehe, only if you want to tell. so i only want to know that where do u live? and what did u do before now CFA? cuz i am doing ACCA and after this i will do CFA INSHALLAH, so i just want to know that about you.

    Rest about the post, i think you are fantastic and absolutely not boring, cuz u get time to chit chat with siblings, sleep on time, wake up on time, do ur study, do ur work, screw the boss if he doesnt think so hehe, and u are awsome just, and do attend the fraud meetins cuz u are right, you get to learn things and this is a good thing 😛
    Glad to read all this, Good going.

    • Specs says:

      Where do I.. live?! :-S What does that have to do with the price of bread in Timbuktu

      -> I have a dual masters in Economics & Finance…
      -> I have a Bachelors in Statistics…
      -> I also have… no excuse to fail… 😦

      Glad you approve of my routine, 😛

      • sunny says:

        OH no no, actually i was asking that where do u live just to get the idea that how much far are you from ur husband cuz he calls u every night, and that is soo cute and lovely, GOD bless this couple 🙂

  9. Mezba says:

    You lost me at ‘reading legalese’ .. just kidding!

    So you lost 12 pounds? Wait till your husband picks you up. You will be hit by the post-marriage-put-on-pounds gene.

    • Specs says:

      Oh no, we both lost weight after the wedding. 🙂 Actually I’ve never been the type who diets but he’s just dropped a lot of weight by dieting so he’s always very conscious about what he eats. Which means I have to be too. *sad* I think we’ll both completely disappear once we’re living together and there’s no one to force us to eat, LOL.

  10. sobia says:

    Lol at Mezba – how true, and then you’ll be complaining 😉 Don’t stress out!!

  11. Achelois says:

    Oh you must get so tired 😦 What a packed day, mA 🙂

  12. 'liya says:

    Oh my … you better make some time to eat girl!! When do you move to him? I thought you were there already. Well, when you guys are together he will make sure you change your habits and eat 🙂

    • Specs says:

      Liya, he isn’t at home all day, when he is gonna make me eat *muahaha*

      Oh I still have a good two or three months before I move. And that’s in a best case scenario. So, erm, pray for me!!

  13. Gaia says:

    Awwww… sounds tough! you should talk more often! Like call 5 times a day 🙂 hope things work out great for you inshalah…

    • Specs says:

      If we talk 5 times a day, when are we gonna work, LOL.
      I hate the time difference. His morning are my peak work hours, my break is his peak work hour, his break is my evening peak rush hour and so on and so forth till he comes home… which is my bed-time. And if we start talking at 11 my time, we don’t put the phone down till the wee hours which is bad for his pocket… and my beauty (sleep). So we decided it was time for some self discipline! HA! *proud of ourselves*

  14. Sumera says:

    Life becomes boring when you work – getting married doesnt make it anymore exciting. I speak from experience :p

  15. д§mд says:

    lolz speccy .. what a perfect time to loose weight 😉

    Your days reminds me of myself an year or so back … I had to pressurize my husband too to talk or he’s just up for my comforts .. sigh . Hehe and even the weekend visits .. uff … when are you coming?

Leave a Reply

